Green Commuting

I wrote about electric vehicles on my last post. The main focus was on the very commuter friendly Enertia Electric Motorcycle. This got me to thinking about commuting that has little impact on the environment.

Some of the things that automatically came to mind were bicycle commuting and mass transit. Green mass transit would include biodiesel buses and light rail that is run on clean energy such as wind power. It is inherently more efficient because of the amount of people that are able to be moved by one vehicle. Cycling would obviously be green because of zero emissions, zero fossil fuel consumption (maybe for tires and lube, but not for propulsion), and even the lower amount of paved land that is needed to support bike travel.

I have a particular interest in bicycle commuting since cycling in one of my past times. What could be better than starting off your work day with something that you love? Well, I have bike commuted a couple of times. I have to say, I got to work more awake and ready to go then ever. I did “hit a wall” later on in the day, but I think that will go away as my fitness increases.

Honestly, I haven’t bike commuted lately. Partially because we are having a record rainy season here in Dallas-Fort Worth, and partially because I have been making excuses. Any of you out there have any words of encouragement to get me off my butt and on a bike?

0 Responses to “Green Commuting”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

