The Tesla Roadster

I really hope everyone has enjoyed the blog so far. We welcomed our readers, and described what our blog will be about as well as what e-waste actually is.

I figure we can go a different direction for this post and take a look at something that I came across while surfing the web. Let me give you a little back story.

I have a weakness for a good looking car. This presents a problem. One of the reasons I work at Phoneraiser is because I sincerely and deeply care about the environment. Well, saying that and driving a sports car that gets 13 mpg would be hypocritical. I won’t have to worry about that for two reasons. I couldn’t afford one and I don’t think there is any way I could carry my bikes with it.

Enter the The Tesla Roadster. The latest attempt at producing a viable electric car. When you hear electric car you may think of the 1997 GM EV1 or hybrid electric-gasoline car such as a Toyota Scion. The Tesla is a world apart from both of those. It goes from 0-60 mph in 4 seconds with a top speed of over 130 mph. It has a range of 250 miles on a single charge and is more than twice as efficient as a hybrid.

Unfortunately a Tesla is still out of my reach. I don’t think it will carry my bikes either, but there is hope. The Tesla Motors blog has said that they are developing more practical cars. If they are half as fast and good lookin’ as the roadster, I will be happy.

Leave a Reply

